Poltoratsky, V.

24 Preludes and Fugues. For Piano. Op. 16, 17. Ed. by A. Mndoyants

Страница издания на русском языке

The cycle of 24 preludes and fugues for piano was composed by Viktor Poltoratsky in 1967—71. The young composer's outstanding mastership is undeniable; his writing is brilliant and variegated, ranging from humour and parody to tenderness and drama. He liked to intersperse his music with quotations.
The cycle consists of two parts: op. 16 (in sharp keys) and op. 17 (in flat keys). The pieces are ordered in an ascending circle of fifths. The present edition is based on the composer's manuscripts, the only exception being Prelude and Fugue No. 9 published in the composer's lifetime (its autograph is lost). All the tempo and dynamic markings, articulation signs and performing directions added by the editor are enclosed in square brackets. The editor's slurs are set up in dotted lines.

Catalogue Number: J0018
ISMN: 979-0-706392-65-3
Number of pages: 140
Year of publishing: 2008